Qld unveil team for State of Origin decider

Queensland has made a couple of changes to its side ahead of the State of Origin decider against New South Wales in Brisbane on July 13.

Maroons coach Billy Slater had already confirmed experienced second-rower Felise Kaufusi would be unavailable for selection due to family reasons that have forced him overseas.

North Queensland’s Jeremiah Nanai has been promoted to the starting side in Kaufusi’s absence while fellow Cowboy Tom Gilbert has been called into the side on the interchange bench.


Selectors have also added Cowboys’ gun Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow and the Roosters’ Sam Walker to the extended squad.

Cameron Munster has been named in the side after overcoming a shoulder injury.

The Blues are expected to confirm their line-up later today.

Queensland Maroons

1. Kalyn Ponga (Newcastle Knights)

2. Selwyn Cobbo (Brisbane Broncos)

3. Valentine Holmes (North Queensland Cowboys)

4. Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights)

5. Murray Taulagi (North Queensland Cowboys)

6. Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)

7. Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Sea Eagles)

8. Lindsay Collins (Sydney Roosters)

9. Ben Hunt (St George Illawarra Dragons)

10. Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)

11. Kurt Capewell (Brisbane Broncos)

12. Jeremiah Nanai (North Queensland Cowboys)

13. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui (Gold Coast Titans)

14. Harry Grant (Melbourne Storm)

15. Jai Arrow (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

16. Patrick Carrigan (Brisbane Broncos)

17. Tom Gilbert (North Queensland Cowboys)

18. Thomas Flegler (Brisbane Broncos)

19. Tom Dearden (North Queensland Cowboys)

20. Beau Fermor (Gold Coast Titans)

21. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow (North Queensland Cowboys)

22. Sam Walker (Sydney Roosters)