#QLDVotes LNP’s Tim Nicholls officially concedes defeat

UPDATE @ 10.15am: It’s official, Labor has won the state election almost two weeks after Queenslanders headed to the polls.

Opposition leader Tim Nicholls confirmed he had called Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk this morning to concede.

“This morning I rang @AnnastaciaMP to concede & wish her the best,” Mr Nicholls tweeted.


In the tweet, he also confirmed he won’t continue as Queensland’s LNP leader.

“I am proud of the positive campaign @LNPQLD ran. I take full responsibility for it.”

“At the party room on Tuesday I will not seek to continue as LNP leader. It is time for a new generation of LNP leaders.”

EARLIER @ December 8, 7.45am: IT appears Labor has won its 48th seat, with opposition leader Tim Nicholls expected to concede today.

According to the ABC, Labor MP Scott Stewart has won the seat of Townsville, giving Premier Annastacia Palaszcuk enough numbers to form a majority.

The LNP is sitting on 39 seats, according to the ABC’s election computer.

It comes almost two weeks after Queenslanders headed to the polls.

EARLIER @ December 6, 8.20am: It looks like Labor has claimed the 47th seat it needs to form a majority government.

On Tuesday night, Labor tweeted Meaghan Scanlon had won the Gold Coast seat of Gaven, defeating LNP’s Sid Cramp.

“Congratulations to Meaghan Scanlon and her incredibly hardworking team on winning Gaven for Labor. You did it!” the party wrote.

Ms Scanlon will hold a doorstop interview at Metricon Stadium today.

The LNP’s Tim Nicholls has not yet conceded defeat, meaning Labor is yet to claim an overall victory.