Queensland makes just one change to winning Origin formula

AS THE saying goes: ‘if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’…

Queensland has stuck with their State of Origin winning formula, making just one change to the side which claimed a record eight-straight series wins last year.

Sydney Roosters backrower Aidan Guerra is the only new face, replacing the injured Sam Thaiday.


The 26-year-old Townsville native will start on the bench next Wednesday as the Maroons look to make it nine-in-a-row.

Backrower and Thaiday’s Brisbane teammate Matt Gillett will slide into the vacant starting role.

Coach Mal Meninga will take the side through a training camp at Sanctuary Cove from tomorrow, following media commitments in Brisbane today.

The New South Wales side will be named by coach Laurie Daley tonight.

Queensland side: Billy Slater, Darius Boyd, Greg Inglis, Justin Hodges, Brent Tate, Johnathan Thurston, Cooper Cronk, Matt Scott, Cameron Smith (c), Nate Myles, Matt Gillett, Chris McQueen, Corey Parker. Interchange Daly Cherry-Evans, Ben Te’o, Aidan Guerra, Josh Papalii.