Queensland’s new Government Cabinet unveiled

Queensland’s new cabinet has been unveiled on social media overnight, with the members to be sworn in on Tuesday.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk revealed her new Ministry via individual Tweets, keeping Queensland political enthusiasts in suspense.

The Premier said the 18-Member Cabinet and five Assistant Ministers were the right mix of experience and regional representation to deliver greater economic prosperity and government services for Queenslanders.


“We will build on the success of our first term – working with business and industry to create more than 130,000 new jobs, restoring frontline services, investing record budgets in health and education, and strengthening our economy through investments in infrastructure and innovation,” she said.

“Cabinet will have equal representation of men and women, and four of the five Assistant Ministers are women.”

Premier Palaszczuk said that her goal over the next 1000 days is to “ensure all Queenslanders win”.

“Whether it is winning with the opportunity for work; or winning with access to quality healthcare for them and their loved ones; or winning with best possible education for our children and access to skills and training for those joining or re-joining the workforce,” she said.

“Our Government – of 25 men and 23 women – represents a State that will be soon be home to five million people spread across more than 1.7 million square kilometres.”

“Our Government will be as hard-working and as decent as the Queenslanders we represent.”

The new Palaszczuk cabinet:

• Premier and Minister for Trade Annastacia Palaszczuk

• Deputy Premier, Treasurer and Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships Jackie Trad

• Minister for State Development, Infrastructure and Planning and Minister for Manufacturing Cameron Dick

• Minister for Innovation, Minister for Tourism Industry Development, and Minister for the Commonwealth Games Kate Jones

• Attorney-General, Minister for Justice and Leader of the House Yvette D’Ath

• Minister for Health and Minister for Ambulance Services Dr Steven Miles

• Minister for Education and Minister for Industrial relations Grace Grace

• Minister for Transport and Main Roads Mark Bailey

• Minister for Natural Resources, Mines and Energy Dr Anthony Lynham

• Minister for Housing and Public Works, Minister for Digital Technology and Minister for Sport Mick de Brenni

• Minister for Employment and Small Business and Minister for Training and Skills Development Shannon Fentiman

• Minister for Environment and the Great Barrier Reef, Minister for Science and Minister for the Arts Leeanne Enoch

• Minister for Police and Minister Corrective Services Mark Ryan

• Minister for Communities and Minister for Disability Services and Seniors Coralee O’Rourke

• Minister for Agricultural Industry Development and Fisheries Mark Furner

• Minister for Local Government, Minister for Racing and Minister for Multicultural Affairs Stirling Hinchliffe

• Minister for Child Safety, Youth and Women and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence Di Farmer

• Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Craig Crawford

Assistant Ministers

• Assistant Minister for Veterans Affairs and Assistant Minister of State Jennifer Howard (Ipswich)

• Assistant Minister for Treasury Glenn Butcher (Gladstone)

• Assistant Minister for State Development Julieanne Gilbert (Mackay)

• Assistant Minister for Education Brittany Lauga (Keppel)

• Assistant Minister for Tourism Industry Development Meaghan Scanlon (Gold Coast)