Rugby League Immortals: Five new greats added to exclusive club

In a shock move, the NRL has announced five new rugby league greats have joined the prestigious Immortal Club.

Dally Messenger, Frank Burge, Dave Brown, Norm Provan and Mal Meninga were all named as Immortals at a special ceremony at the Sydney Cricket Ground overnight.

Just two players were initially meant to be welcomed into the exclusive club on Wednesday night, but CEO Todd Greenberg explained it was a “one-off opportunity to recognise the past”.


“The judges took the view that this was a one-off opportunity to recognise the past, to recognise three players from the pre-war era who became legends of the game,” Greenberg said.

“If the panel did not take this step we could have lost our chance to include these champion players among our Immortals.

“It was an opportunity the game could not afford to miss and the Immortals now reflect the full history of rugby league – from 1908 to the present.”

The five new greats join Immortals Clive Churchill, Bob Fulton, Reg Gasnier, Johnny Raper, Graeme Langlands, Wally Lewis, Arthur Beetson and Andrew Johns.