Ryan James dubbed club’s best at Titans Gala Awards

The Titans night of night’s was held last night, with Ryan James taking out the prestigious Paul Broughton Medal as the club’s best player of 2016 at the QT Hotel in Surfers Paradise.

Presented in front of almost 400 guests by the founding chairman after which it is named, the award recognised James’ best season since his debut for the Titans in 2010.


James was a clear frontrunner for the award at 24 points in polling, six ahead of second place prop/second-rower Agnatius Passi. Scoring was compiled on a 3-2-1 basis each match of the season.

Heavily dominated by pop forwards’, previous victors of the award include Luke Bailey (2007, 2010, 2011), Nate Myles (2012) and Luke Douglas last year. The front-rowers’ tally boasts an impressive six out of the past 10 years.

“It’s a just reward for his most complete and consistent season in his time at the club,” said head coach Neil Henry. “It was great that Ryan could get a solid pre-season in and then back it up with very consistent week in week out footy, which has been rewarded with this award and selection in the Prime Minister’s XIII this weekend.

“Ryan is developing some real leadership qualities as well and I thought he stood up to the grind of playing up front really well after switching back to second row for most of last season.

“He has really found his niche within the team and has an outstanding workrate for a big man often playing long minutes. He is also a great role model to other players with his preparation for games.”

James also held the honour of participating as one of four players in the Titans’ 25 matches of 2016, alongside Paasi, Josh Hoffman and Chris McQueen.

With the Dally M’s next week, he is also looking likely to be in the running for his, and the Titans’, first ever Dally M Medal – after round 16 he was tied at the top of the ladder with the Storm’s Jesse Bromwich.

The local born and bred forward broke the all-time record for most tries by a front-rower in a season. Teammates Agnatius Paasi, Zeb Taia and Chris McQueen were also recognised for their impressive seasons.

Rookie of the year was taken out by Ash Taylor, who just yesterday announced his extended contract with Gold Coast to 2018.

The full list of medal winners are below;

Medal voting 2016 (leading players):

24 – Ryan James
18 – Agnatius Paasi
15 – Greg Bird
14 – Zeb Taia
12 – Konrad Hurrell, Nene Macdonald, Ash Taylor
8 – David Mead
7 – Luke Douglas

The other major award winners:

Members Most Valuable Player: Ryan James
Rookie of the Year: Ash Taylor
Try of the Year Award: Ash Taylor (round 3 v Wests Tigers)
Coach’s Award (NRL): Zeb Taia
Community Award: Darren Robb
NYC Player of the Year: Max King
NYC True Titan Award: Josh Rogers
The Preston Award: Matt Srama and Kane Elgey

Previous Paul Broughton medal winners:
2015: Luke Douglas
2014: Beau Falloon
2013: Greg Bird
2012: Nate Myles
2011: Luke Bailey
2010: Luke Bailey
2009: Nathan Friend
2008: Preston Campbell
2007: Luke Bailey/Anthony Laffranchi (joint winners)