Sally Pearson named Gold Coast Sports Star of the Year for fourth time

Hurdling superstar Sally Pearson has edged out a lengthy list of fellow world champions to be again named Gold Coast Sports Star of the Year.

The 31-year-old was presented with the honour in front of an adoring home crowd at a glittering awards night at the Southport Sharks Events Centre on Thursday.

It’s the fourth time the track hero has won the award, having previously won in 2010, 2011 and 2012.


After suffering a number of injuries following her gold medal win at the London Olympics in 2012, Pearson made an extraordinary return in 2017 – winning the 100m hurdles at the World Championships in London.

Hall Chairperson, and local sporting matriarch, Daphne Pirie, says the annual award almost always goes to a world champion.

“You have to be better than good, or even great, to win this award,” Pirie said. “You have to be the best.

“And Sally is the best. On and off the track she is a champion. To be a four-time winner of this award puts her in a unique league.”

Some of Sally’s competition for the award included Mathew Belcher (sailing), Harriet Brown (board paddling) Shakira Westdorp (stand up paddleboard surfing), Logan Martin (BMX freestyle), Alyce Burnett (kayaking), Ashleigh Gentle (teams triathlon), Ken Wallace and Jordan Wood (kayaking).

MyGC and 1029 Hot Tomato also had their own award to give out on the night, which was taken out by Keebra Park High School’s open age rugby league team!

1029 Hot Tomato’s Flan caught up with Sally at last night’s awards, you can listen to their chat below:

Full list of award recipients:

Gold Coast Sports Star Of The Year Award: Sally Pearson

Sharks Events Centre Gold Coast Sport Star of the Year Award: Athlete with a Disability: Curtis McGrath

City of Gold Coast Mayor’s Sports Award: Ashleigh Gentle

MyGC and 1029 Hot Tomato Gold Coast Sports Star People’s Choice Award: Keebra Park High School open age rugby league team.

Gold Coast Sporting Hall of Fame Inductee: Emma Snowsill

Daphne Pirie AO MBE Spirit of Sport Medal: Mark Gibson

Eximm Junior sports volunteer of the Year: Piper Phelan