SCAM ALERT! Australians warned of hoax Netflix email

Netflix users are being urged to remain wary of a dangerous and convincing email scam currently doing the rounds.

Police issued a warning over the scam today, saying the dodgy email informs people that their netflix billing information needs to be updated and that they must “restart membership”.

The hoax email apparently includes a link to a fake Netflix website which asks users to log in and enter various types of personal information including a credit card number.


ARTICLE CONTINUES AFTER THIS ADVERTISEMENT


“Do NOT click on any links or open attachments from emails claiming to be from a trusted organisation, asking you to update or verify your details – just hit DELETE,” police said in a statement.

“If you are suspicious or concerned, do an internet search using the names or exact wording of the email or message to check for any references to a scam – many scams can be identified this way.

“Before you click on a link, hover over the link to see the actual web address you will be taken to. If you do not recognise or trust the address, try searching for relevant key terms in a web browser.”