Socceroos squad named for must win World Cup qualifier

Socceroos Coach Ange Postecoglou has named his 25-man squad for Australia’s must-win World Cup playoff against Honduras.

The two-leg series will start in San Pedro Sula on November 11, before returning to Sydney on November 15.

Former skipper Mile Jedinak returns to the side after battling injuries, he last pulled on the gold jersey in June.


The home leg of the two-match qualifier will also see the Australian side strengthened by the return of Melbourne Victory midfielder Mark Milligan and Hertha BSC forward Matthew Leckie.

The latest squad features some fresh faces from the team’s recent series success over Syria.


Aziz Behich, Tim Cahill, Milos Degenek, Alex Gersbach, Craig Goodwin, Jackson Irvine, Mile Jedinak, James Jeggo, Tomi Juric, Matthew Jurman, Robbie Kruse, Mitchell Langerak, Matthew Leckie, Massimo Luongo, Ryan McGowan, Mark Milligan, Aaron Mooy, Josh Risdon, Tom Rogic, Nikita Rukavytsya, Matthew Ryan, Trent Sainsbury, James Troisi, Daniel Vukovic, Baily Wright