Bunnies claim first Grand Final win in 43 years


THE South Sydney Rabbitohs have broken a 43 year title drought, smashing Canterbury 30-6 in extraordinary scenes at ANZ Stadium to win the 2014 NRL Telstra Premiership.

The Rabbitohs started out strong in front of 83,800 screaming fans, leading 6-0 at half time following what was an action-packed, controversial first 40 minutes.


Canterbury hit back in the second half, taking the score to 6-6 at the 51st minute, but it just wasn’t enough.

By the time the final siren for the season had sounded, the Bunnies had notched up another 24 points – 16 of these in the last six minutes.

The Clive Churchill Medal was awarded to Rabbitohs forward Sam Burgess who courageously played on with a suspected fractured cheekbone he’d suffered in the first few minutes of the game.

It’s the first time the Bunnies have won a premiership since 1971.

South Sydney