State of Fire Emergency declared over raging bushfires in Queensland

A State of Fire Emergency has been declared across 42 Local Government Areas in Queensland, with dangerous fire weather conditions expected to continue into next week.

It comes as fire crews continue to battle more than 50 fires across the state on Sunday.

Queensland Fire and Emergency Services Acting Commissioner Mike Wassing said residents need to take all possible steps to prevent further fires igniting.


“We’re experiencing tinder box-like conditions across much of the state and all it takes is one spark to start a fire that may burn for days,” Mr Wassing said.

“This declaration is vital to prevent bushfires breaking out and posing a danger to lives and property.”

Mr Wassing said the declaration overrode all existing permits to light fire, banned fireworks and the lighting of any outdoor cooking fires.

“The declaration also prohibits welding, grinding and the use of oxy acetylene cutting or heating outdoors,” he said.

“The use of the machinery and power tools in open areas has the potential to exacerbate the bushfire risk, which is why it is essential people do not use these tools outdoors.

“The declaration also gives QFES the authority to draw on private resources, such as plant and equipment, to assist in firefighting or preparation.”

Mr Wassing said anyone caught breaching the declaration could be fined.

“The penalties for contravening this declaration are serious.. a fine of up to $3,336 or two years imprisonment,” he said.

“Our crews are doing a fantastic job protecting lives and property, and we ask that Queenslanders continue to do their part to prevent fires starting and spreading.”

Mr Wassing urged Queenslanders to remain vigilant and continue to follow the advice of authorities.

“Everyone should have a bushfire survival plan and know what they are going to do if a fire approaches,” he said.

“People need to keep up-to-date on the QFES website and social media channels, and tune into local radio.

“It is important they follow the advice given and don’t leave it too late to evacuate if they need to.”

The State of Fire Emergency prohibits the lighting of all types of outdoor fires, and bans certain activities that can cause fires to ignite.

A full list of all Local Government Areas included in State of Fire Emergency can be found below:

QFES South Eastern Region

LGAs Included:
• Gold Coast City
• Ipswich City
• Lockyer Valley Regional
• Logan City
• Scenic Rim Regional
• Somerset Regional

QFES Brisbane Region

LGAs Included:
• Brisbane City
• Moreton Bay Regional
• Redland City

QFES North Coast Region

LGAs Included:
• Bundaberg Regional
• Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire
• Fraser Coast Regional
• Gympie Regional
• Noosa Shire
• North Burnett Regional
• South Burnett Regional
• Sunshine Coast Regional

QFES South Western Region

LGAs Included:
• Southern Downs Region
• Goondiwindi Regional
• Toowoomba Regional
• Western Downs Regional

LGAs Not Included: 
• Balonne Shire
• Paroo Shire
• Bulloo Shire
• Maranoa Regional
• Murweh Shire
• Quilpie Shire
• Blackall Tambo Regional

QFES Central Region

LGAs Included:
• Banana Shire
• Gladstone Regional
• Rockhampton Regional
• Central Highlands Regional
• Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire
• Livingstone Shire
• Isaac Regional
• Mackay Regional
• Blackall Tambo Regional

LGAs Not Included: 
• Barcaldine Regional
• Longreach Regional
• Barcoo Shire
• Winton Shire

QFES Northern Region

LGAs Included:
• Whitsunday Regional
• Burdekin Shire
• Townsville City
• Hinchinbrook Shire
• Charters Towers Regional
• Flinders Shire

LGAs Not Included: 
• Richmond Shire
• McKinlay Shire
• Cloncurry Shire
• Diamantina Shire
• Boulia Shire
• Mount Isa City
• Burke Shire
• Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire
• Mornington Shire
• Palm Island Aboriginal Shire
• Carpentaria Shire

QFES Far Northern Region

LGAs Included:
• Cassowary Coast Regional
• Tablelands Regional
• Cairns Regional
• Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire
• Croydon Shire
• Etheridge Shire

LGAs Not Included: 
• Carpentaria Shire
• Mareeba Shire
• Douglas Shire
• Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire
• Cook Shire
• Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire
• Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire
• Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire
• Aurukun Shire
• Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire
• Napranum Aboriginal Shire
• Mapoon Aboriginal Shire
• Northern Peninsula Area Regional
• Torres Shire
• Torres Straight Island
• Weipa

The declaration will be in effect until revoked.