Swans star takes the AFL Coaches Player of the Year Award

Swans star Dan Hannebery has grabbed the AFL Coaches Association Champion Player of the Year Award, surpassing Fremantle’s Nat Fyfe by just one vote.

The midfielder needed just seven votes before Round 23 to pinch the prize from heavy favourite Fyfe.

Hannebery was a standout in the Swans clash against the Gold Coast Suns, gathering  32 disposals, nine clearances and a goal.


The performance earned exactly seven votes from Longmire and Eade handing the 24-year-old midfielder a narrow one-vote win.

“I was challenged at the end of last season to come back in good condition (because) I’d probably play a bit more inside as opposed to just wing,” Hannebery told Fox Footy.

“I made a commitment to really make the most of that six weeks before we got back and come back in reasonable shape.

“That’s half the battle. If you come back in reasonable shape then you can just get on with training and look to improve.

“(The award) is something you do hold in high regard because you respect the coaches and they’re extremely knowledgeable people who know a lot about the game.”

In another triumph for the Swans’ midfield contingent, Josh Kennedy sealed third place after earning five votes for his 31 possessions and two goals against the Suns.