Sydney Roosters first team in 26 years to win back-to-back premierships

The Sydney Roosters have taken out the 2019 NRL Grand Final, becoming the first team to record back-to-back premierships in 26 years.

More than 80,000 people packed ANZ Stadium last night, in what was a thrilling match.

It was tied up 8-all late in the second, before a controversial referee call marred the rest of the match.


With the Raiders just metres from the try line, referee Ben Cummins looked to award a repeat set, before then ruling a turnover instead.

The call left players baffled, and fans furious, before the Roosters made light work of getting ahead in the final minutes.

Post match, Raiders Coach Ricky Stuart refused to blame the refs for the devastating outcome.

“If it is the wrong call – and I’ve only seen it once – there’s not a referee that would go out there and try and make a mistake if it was a mistake.

“I hope that if it is wrong, that it’s not the spotlight of this evening,” Stuart said.

The match sealed Cooper Cronk’s career, in what was his ninth grand final.

Roosters Captain Boyd Cordner says it was an amazing game.

“We showed heart and character and stuck in there and we grabbed our opportunity and we held on in the end.

“I’m so overwhelmed and excited. We’re just going to enjoy this and ride it out as long as it goes. It’s an amazing achievement,” Cordner said.

Raiders’ star Jack Wighton took home the Clive Churchill medal – the first player in six years to claim it from the losing team.

Wighton scored the Canberra side’s only try, and broke a whopping five tackles.