Sydney Roosters star James Tedesco wins Dally M Medal

Sydney Roosters fullback James Tedesco has taken home the prestigious Dally M Medal in a glittering NRL event in Sydney overnight.

Tedesco held out Melbourne Storm Captain Cameron Smith in a dramatic final round of voting to claim the top gong by three points.

The NRL star finished with a total of 34 points, and now has the chance to become the first ever player to take home all of NRL’s highest honours.


“I just want to thank the Sydney Roosters club, Nick Robbo, all the staff and of course the players,” Tedesco said when accepting his award.

“I wouldn’t have had the year I had without you guys and how well our whole team played, it definitely made me look good.”

Tedesco also took out the Peter Frilingos Headline Moment for his series-winning try in the State of Origin decider.

In the other awards, Cameron Smith won Hooker of the Year as well as Captain of the Year, while the Broncos Payne Haas completed a remarkable season by taking out Rookie of the Year along with Prop of the Year.

The Roosters Latrell Mitchell won Centre of the Year as well as the Top Points Scorer, while Canberra Raiders’ John Bateman won Second Rower of the Year.

The “Spirit of the Game award” was awarded to the Bulldogs’ Josh Jackson, for his actions in consoling Paul Momirovski after the Wests Tigers player missed a goal to tie their match in Round 21, while Coach of Year was given to Melbourne Storm’s Craig Bellamy.

St George Illawarra’s Jess Sergis, who is playing in the Women’s Premiership Grand Final against Brisbane Broncos thjs Sunday, won the Female Dally M Player of the Year.