Sydney Roosters to go for back-to-back NRL premierships

The 2019 NRL Grand Final has been set – with the Sydney Roosters to take on the Canberra Raiders in next Sunday’s match.

The Roosters secured their place in the final after a 2018 grand final replay against the Melbourne Storm at the SCG last night.

The Storm tried desperately to redeem themselves after last year’s premiership loss to the Roosters, though despite their best efforts, trailed the entire game.


A tense feeling was set after a double sin-binning just 20 seconds in, with both Nelson Asofa-Solomona and Sio Siua Taukeiaho sent off for trading fists.

The Roosters got up in the first, with a try from Boyd Cordner and two Latrell Mitchell penalty goals.

The Storm looked stronger in the second, before Roosters Fullback James Tedesco put down a try in the 69th minute, to wrap it all up 14-6.

The victors will now line up against the Canberra Raiders in next week’s Grand Final.

They’ll be hoping for back-to-back premierships and if they do it, it’ll be the first time since the Broncos won back-to-back in the early ’90s.