Three more artists announced for Eurovision – Australia Decides on the Gold Coast

SBS Australia has just announced another three artists who will be competing in the new national selection show Eurovision – Australia Decides on the Gold Coast in February.

Hosted by Joel Creasey and Myf Warhurst, the show will feature ten artists vying for the chance to represent their country at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2019.

The first four acts were confirmed earlier this month, with award-winning singer-songwriter Kate Miller-Heidke, much-loved Brisbane indie pop band Sheppard, pop-opera star Mark Vincent and modern electric-soul duo Electric Fields among the contestants to feature in the first ever national competition.


On Wednesday, it was revealed drag queen and reality television veteran Courtney Act will also be competing.

Act appeared on the first season of Australian Idol in 2003 and has just released a new single titled ‘Fight for Love’.

“A sweet 16 years after Australian Idol I have the chance to show Australia how I have grown as an artist and a performer and I am so excited,” Act said.

“To compete to represent Australia in Eurovision is second only to being on that stage in Tel Aviv and singing my lungs out for my country. I’ve sat at home every year since Guy Sebastian competed in 2015 and have been so keen to be a part of it. Now, this might be my chance!”

Act will be joined by charismatic pop star Aydan Calafiore from The Voice and 16-year-old singer-songwriter Leea Nanos, who has been selected as a wild card entry.


Eurovision – Australia Decides will take place at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre on Friday 8 and Saturday 9 February.

It will be broadcast live and exclusively on SBS.

Another three acts are expected to be announced soon, so stay tuned!