Thurston and Hayne make history at Dally M awards

HISTORY has been made at the NRL’s night of nights.

Johnathon Thurston and Jarryd Hayne have been named the first ever dual-winners of the Dally M award on Monday night.

For heavy favourite Thurston, it’s his third crown but his first since 2007 and see’s him join NRL great Andrew Johns as the only player to earn a hot-trick of the awards.


It’s the second time New South Wales State of Origin star Hayne has taken out the award, winning for the first time in 2009.

Penrith’s Ivan Cleary won coach of the year, Manly’s Jamie Lyon captain of the year, and Wests Tigers’ youngster Luke Brooks the game’s best rookie.