Thurston wins third straight RLPA award

Cowboys superstar Johnathan Thurston has taken out the players’ player medal for the third straight year at the  Rugby League Players’ Association (RLPA) awards night on Tuesday.

In another stunning statistic, it’s the fourth time the North Queensland player has taken out the award in his career.

Despite the amazing win, the star was a no-show at the Sydney event as he prepared for Saturday night’s semi-final against Cronulla in Townsville.


Thurston instead decided to accept the gong via video, saying the honour was higher than the prestigious Dally M medal awarded to the best player of the year.

“In my eyes, this is the highest accolade a player can get, to be voted by your peers as the best in your game,” he said.

Thurston, who took out the RLPA honour in 2005, 2013 and 2014, edged out an impressive list of stars, including Brisbane’s Ben Hunt, South Sydney’s Greg Inglis, Wests Tiger James Tedesco and the Sydney Roosters’ Roger Tuivasa-Sheck.