Victorians begin mad rush out of QLD with border to shut

Victoria will slam its border shut to parts of Queensland that have been plunged into lockdown.

Those areas, including the Gold Coast, will be declared red zones from 1am on Wednesday morning.

That means people from the areas will be barred from entering Victoria.


Returning Victorian residents who arrive home after 1am on Wednesday will be forced to do 14 days of home quarantine.

Residents from Greater Melbourne were only allowed back into Queensland on Friday.

Read more: Gold Coast, SE Qld, Townsville plunged into lockdown

Victoria has also declared the Perth and Peel regions of W.A. as red zones after they were also sent into lockdown last night.

Meantime, Queensland has also declared the Perth and Peel regions as hotspots with travel restrictions now in place.

Western Australia has also just announced it will impose a hard border closure with all of Queensland from 3pm Perth time.