Victory crowned A-League Champions

A-League Grand Final Review - Melbourne Victory v Sydney FC

Melbourne Victory have been crowned champions of the A-League for 2015 after a dominant 3-0 win over rivals Sydney FC in the grand final.

A near capacity crowd at AAMI Park saw goals to Besart Berisha, Kosta Barbarouses and Leigh Broxham secure the Victory their third title.


Both sides were unchanged from the line-ups which saw them comfortably defeat Melbourne City and Adelaide United respectively in the semi-finals.

A fierce and fiery beginning to the match saw multiple fouls committed by both sides in the opening minutes.

The Victory were on the attack early with Sydney goalkeeper Vedran Janjetovic being called on to save chances from Besart Berisha and Kosta Barbarouses.

Sydney were dealt an early blow, forced to make a substitution in the opening 20 minutes. Defender Jacques Faty appeared to injure his hamstring and was replaced by Rhyan Grant, causing the Sky Blues to reshuffle their back line.

The home side were dominant, creating multiple chances and applying mountains of…

[signoff icon=”icon-link”]FULL ARTICLE: Sports Banter
*This link to the original article is not under the control of and may on occasions contain content of a graphic nature.[/signoff]

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments