WATCH: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck wins the 2018 Dally M Medal

Warriors captain Roger Tuivasa-Sheck has won the 2018 Dally M Medal, becoming the first player from the club to take out the prestigious award.

Tuivasa-Sheck topped the tally with 29 points in a dramatic final round of voting, just edging out Newcastle Knights fullback Kalyn Ponga.

The Warriors fullback also took out the full-back of the year award, capping off a stellar year for the 25-year-old.


“Wow this is crazy… I remember the first time I came to these awards, I remember sitting there just thinking, ‘man it would be a dream to win this award’, not knowing that day would ever come,” Tuivasa-Sheck said.

“So I’m just feeling truly blessed right now to be up here holding this trophy.”

After his win, Tuivasa-Sheck’s fellow teammates Issac Luke and Jazz Tevaga, along with Brisbane’s Jamayne Isaako and Canberra’s Jordan Rapana, broke out into a passionate haka.

“Ladies and gentlemen, that’s what respect in Rugby League looks like” Fox Sports presenter Yvonne Sampson said following the emotional performance.


Melbourne Storm skipper Cameron Smith was awarded Captain of the Year, while his teammate Cameron Munster won Five-Eighth of the Year.

Blake Ferguson from the Sydney Roosters took out Winger of the Year, while South Sydney Rabbitohs Coach Anthony Seibold won Coach of the Year.

The prestigious Provan Summons People’s Choice award was won by Rabbitohs hooker Damien Cook, who also won Hooker of the Year.

The Rookie of the Year award was taken out by Brisbane Broncos flyer Jamayne Isaako, while the Dally M Female Player of the Year was the Broncos’ Brittany Breayley.

The Ken Stephen Medal went to Gold Coast Titans Captain Ryan James.

Full list of 2018 winners:

Dally M Player of the Year: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Warriors)
Captain of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
Coach of the Year: Anthony Seibold (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Peter Moore Award for Rookie of the Year: Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos)
Fullback of the Year: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Warriors)
Winger of the Year: Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters)
Centre of the Year: Joseph Leilua (Canberra Raiders)
Five-eighth of the Year: Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)
Halfback of the Year: Luke Brooks (Wests Tigers)
Lock of the Year: Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)
Second-rower of the Year: Josh Jackson (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
Prop of the Year: Andrew Fifita (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
Hooker of the Year: Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Interchange Player of the Year: Jazz Tevaga (Warriors)
Top Points Scorer: Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos)
Top Try Scorer: David Fusitu’a (Warriors)
Provan Summons People’s Choice Medal: Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Female Player of the Year: Brittany Breayley (Brisbane Broncos)
Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: Holden Women’s State of Origin
Ken Stephen Medal: Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans)